About NOC of Sri Lanka

The N.O.C was inaugurated on 8th April 1937 at a meeting of representatives of Athletic, Swimming and Boxing Associations. As resolved on this day, the first meeting of the Ceylon Olympic and Empire Games Association was held on 30th April 1937 with the following persons attending;
Sir John Tarbat, Mr. Mc D. Robinson, Col. P.J. Parsons, Dr. V.R. Schokman, Mr. A. Van Langenberg, Mr. A.B. Henricus, Mr. S.P. Foenander, Mr. C.A.B. Starling, Mr. D.G. Obeyesekere

At this meeting Dr. V.R. Schokman was elected as the President and Mr. W.H.D. Perera as the Secretary. With the dismantling of the British Empire, the name of the Association was changed to Ceylon Olympic and Commonwealth Games Association. Still later it was changed as the National Olympic Committee of Sri Lanka.

IOC Membership: The National Olympic Committee of Sri Lanka was recognized by the I.O.C. in the same year it was inaugurated – 1937.

Accordingly to the date of recognition of N.O.C.s by the I.O.C., Sri Lanka N.O.C. stands at the 6th place and is therefore one of the oldest N.O.Cs in Asia.

Office Premises

Since its inception, the NOC did not enjoy the luxury of office premises and each successive Secretary General had made his own ad hoc arrangements to provide a Secretariat to the NOC. This was far from satisfactory and it was well nigh impossible to provide the services that an organisation such as the NOC should provide to the Associations to a satisfactory degree and the dream of an efficient organisation of sports was far from realised.

In September 1995 a headquarters of sorts was established. But when the passing of time this building which was rather old soon became unsuitable for occupation and the N.O.C was shifted to a section of Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium.

The dream of many an Olympic Committee Official came true on 25th September 2008 when the “Olympic House” was ceremonially declared open at No. 100/9F, Independence Avenue, Colombo 7. This was a stupendous task as the total cost of the building which amounted to nearly Rs. 150 million had to be raised through grants, donations and sponsorships.

The building of the Olympic House became a reality with the laying of the foundation stone for the building on 11th May 2007 by Hon. Gamini Lokuge, Minister of Sports and Public Recreation. Since then steady progress was achieved in building operations and the Olympic House was declared open on 25th September 2008.